The Pacific ICT Ministers' Dialogue 2023 Marks a Milestone: The Lagatoi Declaration on Digital Transformation of the Pacific

 The Pacific ICT Ministers' Dialogue 2023 Marks a Milestone: The Lagatoi Declaration on Digital Transformation of the Pacific

A momentous occasion unfolded on August 28, 2023, in Port Moresby, as the first-ever Pacific ICT Ministers' Dialogue came to a close with the signing of the 'Lagatoi Declaration'.

This landmark gathering brought together ICT Ministers and Heads of Delegation from across the Pacific Island countries to foster collaboration, discuss challenges, and chart a course for the digital future of the region. The highlight of the event was the unanimous signing of the Lagatoi Declaration on Digital Transformation of the Pacific.

The Lagatoi Declaration, a symbol of unity and commitment, saw participation from 12 Pacific Island countries that included Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, and Vanuatu.

Additionally, three Pacific ICT Ministers representing Marshall Islands, Cook Islands, and Tuvalu expressed their intention and agreement to the declaration via zoom.

The accord reaffirms the region's collective aspiration for a well-connected, prosperous, and secure digital landscape.

The ministers, recognizing the significance of a united front in achieving their digital goals, deliberated on a range of pivotal ICT matters.

The dialogue encompassed the state of current ICT endeavors, hurdles that lay ahead, success stories that serve as inspiration, lessons gleaned from past experiences, as well as pathways to propel the Pacific's utilization of ICT and digital transformation.

A key theme woven into these discussions was the strengthening of regional cooperation and representation to address the evolving needs of ICT and digital development.

The Lagatoi Declaration zeroes in on six priority areas that will guide the Pacific's digital journey:

1. Digital Transformation

2. Digital Innovation and Entrepreneurship

3. Digital Infrastructure

4. Digital Security and Trust

5. Digital Capacity Building and Skills Development

6. Regional Cooperation and Representation

The signing of the Lagatoi Declaration marks a turning point in the Pacific's digital trajectory, with nations united in their pursuit of a vibrant and secure digital future.

As the region moves forward, these commitments are set to shape policies, initiatives, and collaborative efforts that will not only harness the power of ICT but also fortify the Pacific's position in the global digital landscape.

The Inaugural Pacific ICT Ministers' Dialogue has set the stage for transformation, innovation, and collaboration, driving the Pacific Islands toward a prosperous digital era.

Next : Pacific ICT Ministers Unite for Digital Transformation

Previous Post Next Post